googleads
Customer Testimonials for Outdoor Homescapes of Houston
Outdoor Living Space Design
 

Reviews/Customer Testimonials



Shadow

 

 

Customer testimonials and reviews? We’ve got  tons of positive comments on our patio designs. Houston clients are thrilled with everything from outside patio kitchen plans to extensive audio-visual systems setups to poolside retreats built to exacting specifications!

Since 2004, our outdoor living space and patio kitchen design ideas have delighted our Houston, Texas clients!

Like what you’re reading and want your own outdoor living space? Contact us today, and we’ll get your project started!

 

rnrmayo

Project Date: September 2015

Project Price: $1,000 – $9,999

Wayne to the rescue! We have a fairly sizeable outdoor kitchen project we have been working on for a while. We have many ideas for what we want but are unable to pull it all together. Wayne created a design for us which takes all the ideas in our head and puts them onto paper in a concrete, understandable, finished product. He is able to see our vision and make it a reality. He returns calls quickly and makes changes quickly as needed. We have enjoyed the entire experience with Outdoor Homescapes and look forward to working with Wayne on future projects.

 

crw122170 (via Houzz):

Project Date: November 2015

Project Price: $50,000 – $100,000

Wayne and Kristy did an AMAZING job on the design of our outdoor living space. Can’t wait for the project to begin. They were attentive and listened to our likes and dislikes.

 

Andrea Ayala (via Houzz):

Project Date: November 2015

Project Price: $10,000 – $49,999

We worked with Wayne a few Months ago in a restaurant project and it was great, the product and the attention was outstanding. Wayne helped us with budgets and design, we look forward to work with him in another restaurant that we are opening.

 

Carvana Hicks Cloud (via Houzz):

Project Date: October 2015

Project Price: $10,000 – $49,999

Wayne and his amazing team (particularly JC) just completed my outdoor living space and it is truly a paradise! I was referred to Outdoor Homescapes and after the first meeting with Wayne and Lisha, I was sold. They listened to my vision and incorporated their expertise to create an outdoor living space just perfect for me and my family! The 3d renderings helped me to visualize the space (before construction) and the finished product turned out to be FUNCTIONAL and FABULOUS! We had a few scheduling glitches that caused a slight delay, but I wouldn’t hire anyone else to construct my outdoor patio because this company’s quality and craftsmanship is bar none! State your vision, ask questions and work with them to make your outdoor living dream come true! Nobody does it better! I highly recommend Outdoor Homescapes!

 

tylertorres21 (via Houzz):

Project Date: March 2015

Project Price: $10,000 – $49,999

I was in need of a outdoor living design and had no clue where to start. After a Internet search, I found Outdoor homescapes. Wayne come out and gave me a design for the layout of my patio and outdoor living space for a new home that I bought in the Tomball/cypress area. He was very prompt and gave me excellent advice on A design that would fit my yard and my budget. The process was very easy and I really liked how they listened to me and the things that I value the most in the design. The design was something that made my backyard different and easy to maintain. We live on a small lake with a walking path and I wanted to really have something that was visually appealing. My design is complete and I plan on having Them come out and do the construction. I would recommend others to use outdoor homescapes as well. I look forward to the next step. Thanks again guys!

 

Nimesh P. (via Houzz):

Project Date: April 2015

Project Price: $10,000 – $49,999

We used Outdoor Homescapes to build an Outdoor Kitchen with sink, grill, refrig, and drawers. They did a good job and everything looks good. Very satisfied!

 

Ben Bennetzen (via Houzz):

Project Date: May 2015

Project Price: $10,000 – $49,999

Wayne and his team did an excellent job on my outdoor kitchen design and build. They truly exceeded all of my expectations and were a pleasure to deal with. I would highly recommend Outdoor Homescapes for any backyard project. Pricing was very fair and quality of materials far exceeded what the competition proposed during the bid phase. True Professionals!!!

 

bswift355 (via Houzz):

Project Date: November 2015

Project Price: $10,000 – $49,999

Wayne and his team did a great job on our outdoor kitchen. His experience and knowledge was very helpful as we were designing this part of our home. We would highly recommend his services.

 

Al Vickers (via Houzz):

Project Date: March 2015

Project Price Range: $50,000 – $100,000

We used Outdoor Homescapes (OH) for the design and installation of a very large kitchen retrofitted into our existing patio space (i.e. units, appliances, fireplace, no major building construction works). 

These retrofit projects can be really tricky and the project was completed with high quality, on schedule and on budget. Our standards are high and we would recommend them to friends. 

Some more detailed comments for those who want to know more… 

1. Attitude – the company works in a very organized and professional way. Communications are responsive, clear and appropriate. A pleasure to work with. They give you honest opinions and do not try and upsell. 

2. Design Services – we paid up front for the design service offered by OH. At the end of this you have a design you own and then can choose whether to proceed with OH or break. Their design services are modern and of a high standard. At the end you have detailed plans and a 3D visualization that allows you to feel the space. Lisha, Wayne and I iterated on this numerous times before we landed on the final design. They were prepared to spend time in the detail to get us to a place we had a very solid scope and a very personal design. Also, the way they structure this in two phases (design and construction), with a decision point creates a very professional and focused design phase because they can’t assume they can fix issues in construction and (in a very positive way) they are earning the construction work with the quality of their approach in design. If there was one thing I would improve at the end of design it would be for them to provide a little more detail on schedule, not just a (very clear) cost estimate. 

Once in construction OH provide a very neat service where one of their designers will either shop/buy for you or shop with you for the more detailed pieces that will finish your home. This was a very positive personalized feature, Lisha helped narrow down an enormous market place of materials and finishes to a few we could choose from. 

3. Construction – The crews used by OH are well known to them and are very good craftsmen. I have worked with lots of contractors in Houston and OH has good dependable crews – this is worth a lot to me as a client. The crews treated our home very well, were always tidy and clean in their work and were open to discussions on details whilst on the job. They generally understood their work scope well and executed with high quality. They were open to feedback. We only had a couple of minor scheduling mistakes/scope clarifications over a 12 week project with lots of weather disruption, a pretty solid outcome. I think even this could be improved with stronger scheduling controls but this is to pick at a detail – the bottom line is OH are much better than the average prime contractor. 

4. Construction support – On site presence of project leadership from OH is at normal levels and increases as work fronts increase. 

5. Costs/charging – OH are not cheap but as with everything in life you pay for quality and they deliver with quality. I was happy with the price we paid for the kitchen that was delivered – it felt fair. OH did not nickel and dime me on change orders, reasonable and small adjustments they absorb in their budget quote, larger ones they will charge you for (rightly). As with any project, clear communication between the contractor and the client on change management is important to project delivery and relationship management! As with any project, I suggest being fairly honest about your ball park budget up front so you can make informed choices together. 

Overall, I would thoroughly recommend OH for your outdoor kitchen. There is lots of commodity in the outdoor kitchen space, OH are quality, not commodity. They are a very solid professional outfit at the high end of the market.

 

Ricki Henry (via Houzz)

Project Date: February 2015

Project Price: $1,000 – $9,999

We had a Solaira outdoor heating system installed on our patio this week. We could not be more pleased. The system is excellent and the installation was professional and personable. The morning after installation, the outside temperature was 35 degrees and we did not have to run the system at its maximum power to achieve a comfortable temperature on the patio. We are able to turn the system on and off and adjust the power with a remote. The system is not inexpensive, but I feel that it is worth the cost. We asked for the best and I am satisfied that we got it.

 

Johnny_1957 (via Houzz)

Project Date: January 2015

Project Price: $1,000 – $9,999

Wayne did a small outdoor kitchen for me 3 years ago. I used my own gas grill, which wasn’t of good quality. As Wayne told me, the grill I used would not last very long and it hasn’t so I contacted Wayne and he is putting in a professional quality RCS grill. My wife was extremely pleased when Wayne installed the outdoor kitchen; she will like it more with the high quality grill. Wayne’s work and attitude are truly amazing…..I highly recommend Outdoor Homescapes.

Claudia O. 11/7/2014 (via Houzz):

“We highly recommend Wayne and his crew. They had the best design by far and we checked three companies before we hired them. We are very happy with the outcome of our outdoor kitchen and have been using it almost daily. It looks amazing and works perfectly! Thank you so much for the great job, Wayne!”

dederhoff 10/26/2014 (via Houzz):

“My husband and I have been wanting to do something with our backyard for a long time now, but really had no idea where to begin. We sent Wayne some pictures of our backyard and set up a time to meet over the phone. After giving him some general ideas of what we wanted, he worked up a design and emailed it to us. We were blown away at how he was able to take what little information we gave him and come up with exactly what we wanted. Even the colors and materials for the outdoor furniture were perfect and we never even discussed that detail. We loved everything about it. We are so looking forward to getting started on our new backyard!”

Gina S. 9/28/2014 (via Houzz):

“I would highly recommend Outdoor Homescapes to anyone considering adding an outdoor living space. Wayne the owner is very easy to work with and I must admit, I am a nightmare of a customer. Wayne comes out and gives you a lot of options and ideas, then does a 3D drawing so you can see exactly how the finished project will look. Because I wanted a lot more than I could afford, it took over a year of making changes. Wayne was very easy to work with and helped me find a way to get exactly what I wanted and all within my budget. Once we decided it was a go, Wayne got us on the schedule and the guys showed up at the exact day and time he promised. The guys are very knowledgeable and professional. I know after all the research I did on this project, I went with the best company to do the job. We love it!!!”

plenzner 9/19/2014 (via Houzz):

“My wife and I completely recommend Outdoor Homescapes of Houston for all your homescapes, outside kitchens, pool planning, landscaping and materials needs. I have been using their services for several years now, on our old home and now our new residence, and I’ve never been disappointed in either the quality of work or the amount I’ve paid.

Wayne and his team are dedicated and professional, and are not interested in doing something simply so they can charge you for it. Instead, they work carefully with you, and together you decide on the best approach for your outside project and your yard. This is how a business like this should be run.

After careful consideration and a vetting of numerous contractors, we didn’t hesitate to go with Wayne and Outdoor Homescapes of Houston again. We are always blown away and were immediately impressed with his and the staff’s professionalism. We were even more impressed that the staff really listened to what we wanted and that they truly cared about providing us a first-rate plan with second and third iterations – resulting in a perfect final product.

The addition of new design software and the use of 3D cad-like drawings during the planning phase was remarkable. Once initial renderings were developed in vibrant color graphical representations of our house, yard and vision (design), we could finally begin to grasp what our investment would look like.

Outdoor Homescapes’ relaxed, no-pressure planning and construction processes were key elements that made us confident we had chosen the right contractor for our home. Wayne and his team are easily the best Houston company for outdoor kitchens, rooms, pool planning and landscaping, and it would be a mistake not to hire them for your outside project or addition.”

tuckeca 9/17/2014 (via Houzz):

“I had a wonderful experience with Wayne and his crew. We had to make a fairly substantial change to the roof of the house to expand the outdoor living space. Wayne’s structural engineer reviewed and signed off on all changes, which gave me great peace of mind. My project manager, Lisha, doubled as the decorator and was able to make recommendations regarding exterior finishes as well as furniture and accessories. She kept me informed and involved.”

Jakob K. 6/10/14 (via Houzz, see image above):

“I would have no reservations using the team at Outdoor Homescapes again or recommending them to friends and family. We are very happy with our outdoor kitchen. Wayne and the team did a great job helping us through the process, they were very prompt and professional in coming out, providing an initial sketch and pricing that was very straightforward and transparent. Much different than the other contractors we met with prior to selecting Outdoor Homescapes. The finished product is everything we hoped it would be (Big Green Egg Nest, 42-inch grill, power burner, fridge and sink) and they did a great job tying in materials that complemented our house and back yard.”

Jim C. 5/27/14 (via Houzz):

I was introduced to Outdoor Homescapes by way of the Groupon special. Kristy did a great job of translating my long list of ideas into a very nice 3D rendering and layout. This allowed me to show my ideas to my wife for “final approval.” It worked! My household CFO has approved the project! Thanks, Kristy & Wayne.

Andrea S. 3/25/14 (via Houzz, see video above):

“Wayne L. Franks exceeded our expectations! My husband and I just wanted a simple outdoor kitchen for a gas grill and Big Green Egg. Wayne’s design was spot-on for our lifestyle, his finishing material suggestions complimented our house and his attention to details left us with a product that we’re sure to enjoy for years to come. In addition, I was impressed by the tenure and talent of his craftsmen and crew … we knew that at every step of the process, we had the “best of the best” doing the work! My husband and I will refer our friends to Wayne L. Franks, Outdoor Homescapes of Houston LLC, without hesitation.”

ubarnett 3/18/14 (via Houzz):

“Wayne and I worked together to design a beautiful outdoor living space to accommodate our growing family. From the initial meeting, I knew he was a pro and well-versed in making spaces meet the needs of his customers. He asked the right questions and brought things to my attention that I hadn’t thought about. Meticulous in his work and work ethic like none other, I would recommend Wayne to anyone looking to make the transition from backyard to oasis!”

Susan Caviness Binney 3/5/14 (via Houzz):

“We had a very positive experience with Wayne. We found him through Living Social. He developed a very nice design for our backyard. Enjoyed getting to know him and to see how passionate he is about his work. Would highly recommend this company for outdoor designs.”

Elizabeth M. – June 2013 (via Citysearch):

“I found Outdoor Homescapes doing an Internet search. We had some ideas of what we wanted in our outdoor living space and Wayne with Outdoor Homescapes helped us greatly with design ideas – how did we plan to use our space. how to leave adequate space for furniture, pros and cons of different types of materials, lighting ideas, what design was best to use with our roof line and more! The resulting design is beautiful, functional and unique. We had one repair that was needed and Wayne and team took care of this right away. Just like all construction jobs, completion did take longer than we had anticipated but we are pleased with the finished product. The quality of the work was excellent. We are enjoying our new outdoor space greatly. Thank you, Outdoor Homescapes!”

John or Sissy 8/1/12:

“Wayne, good to hear from you. Believe it or not, after all that hard work we SOLD the house and purchased a big new one. We enjoyed our outdoor space very much and it all came out so beautiful. I truly believe the outdoor space helped to sell our home. We sold it 2 days after listing it and for full asking price.”

John R. - June 2012

“After going to a home show in Cypress, we were interested in an outdoor kitchen for our home. We had two of the companies that were displaying their work come out to provide us a design as well as a bid. After receiving the two, I felt I should look at one more company to make sure I was not only getting a good price but the best design based on the small area I was working with. I did a search on the Internet and came across Outdoor Homescapes. I talked to Wayne that same evening, told him that I was interested in a full kitchen, sink, refrigerator, double burner and a 36-inch grill – but only had a 5 foot by 6 foot area to put it in. Wayne came to our home the very next evening and had a design that worked very well. At this point, I had eliminated one company and it was between Outdoor Homescapes and one of the companies that I had out from the home show. The other company’s price was a bit higher, but I wanted to discuss making a few changed based on Wayne’s suggestions as well as an updated bid. After making three calls and waiting two days with no answer, I gave the work to Outdoor Homescapes. The job started three days later and was completed in less than five days. To be honest, I was having a hard time picking my stone, travertine and accent tiles fast enough to keep up with his crew. Speaking of the crew, their only goal was to provide great customer service and to make sure everything they were doing was to my satisfaction. They went as far as returning and hand selecting travertine and accent stone because they wanted all the stone to blend as much as possible. Outstanding company, and yes – I would hire again!”

Scott L. 5/10/12 (via Citysearch):

“Super job on my outdoor kitchen. Design work a big plus. Wayne’s company did an outstanding job on my outdoor kitchen and I have all the bells and whistles. Wayne Franks is an outstanding man and he has a lot of character. He is funny, too, and easy to work with. Just this past week, I installed a new Fire Magic grill. The grill would have cost me $2,500. With one phone call to Wayne, he let me put the grill on his account and I received a discount to $1,800. Saved me $700.”

Mollie 10/15/2012:

“We enjoy our outdoor kitchen very much and use it all the time. I have referred Wayne to my friends several times.”

Mike  4/1/12:

“I contracted Outdoor Homescapes to Build my outdoor Kitchen and Attached Garage. From start to finish I was treated with respect. All questions were answered to my satisfaction. Normal delays occurred due to weather and changes made by me to the final project. The job finished ahead of schedule, I am very proud of the outcome. I would gladly recommend Wayne and Outdoor Homescapes to anyone wanting a dream kitchen.”

Kathy 9/30/12:

“Like others we wanted an outdoor kitchen. Wayne and his crew truly transformed our yard into a showcase. We are able to use it year round for entertaining and family time. Wayne and his crew went out of their way to meet our expectations and bring our dreams to reality. The work was precise and quality. Wayne made sure that all opportunities were given to me to choose, stone, tile and floor surfaces. Even when it meant building miniature stone walls until I could decide. His years of experience made him a wealth of first hand knowledge. I would definitely recommend him.”

Kevin 4/1/12:

“My wife and I contacted Outdoor Homescapes to put an outdoor living space in our backyard. The project completely transformed our backyard into a year round usable space. Wayne and crew took an unusually sloped backyard and “wasted” area behind the garage and turned it into an outdoor extension of the house. Wayne worked with us to show us several possibilities and let us choose the design, stone, concrete overlay, appliances and lighting that transitioned our home into the outdoors. We can now spend our days and evenings outside, while enjoying all the comforts of the indoors.They exceeded our expectations.”

Louie 7/15/12/:

“If you are looking make your backyard a more functional part of your house, look no further than Outdoor Homescapes of Houston. From the moment we, my wife and I, saw the 3-D renderings of our kitchen and extended patio (which was really cool) with all details we want in place, our vision began to come to life. The work crews that brought this vision to life were very professional, friendly, and kept the worksite clean as they progress throughout our contract. Outdoor Homescapes not only help create and expand our vision, they delivered on it and work with us to bring it to fruition. We absolutely love our new kitchen and patio extension.”

Julie 3/10/12:

“My husband and I are very pleased with the work that Outdoor Homescapes has done designing and building our outdoor kitchen. The work was performed in a professional manner and we have referred them to several friends. If you want a custom outdoor kitchen use this company. They were great.”

Anonymous customer -Sept. 2011 (via Citysearch):

“When my husband and I were in the market looking for a company to do ‘something’ in our backyard we looked around for someone that could show us other jobs they had done that had the look and feel of a job well done. Wayne was the only one that was able to show us that – with before and after pictures, and pictures of the jobs in progress. Wayne helped us to define that ‘something’ and give form, color, and dimension to it. Outdoor Homescapes is about quality. And that is what we were looking for. After every stage we would look at the job in detail and everything that we would find that needed attention, would be fixed to our satisfaction before moving to the next stage. We had plenty of time to make our decisions about materials and colors. They never rushed us. At the end we are super happy with the results. You can see our job in his webiste displayed as the Outdoor Living Space for the month of August. Yes . . . that’s our job. And yes, it is a recent job. . . . I just had a warming up party this past weekend and all my friends agreed that it was worth the wait.”

Kevin – Sept. 2011:

“My wife and I contacted Outdoor Homescapes to put an outdoor living space in our backyard. The project completely transformed our backyard into a year round usable space. Wayne and crew took an unusually sloped backyard and “wasted” area behind the garage and turned it into an outdoor extension of the house. Wayne worked with us to show us several possibilities and let us choose the design, stone, concrete overlay, appliances and lighting that transitioned our home into the outdoors. We can now spend our days and evenings outside, while enjoying all the comforts of the indoors. They exceeded our expectations.”

Anonymous customer – 9/19/2011 (via Citysearch):

“I contracted Outdoor Homescapes to Build my outdoor Kitchen and Attached Garage. From start to finish I was treated with respect. All questions were answered to my satisfaction. Normal delays occured due to weather and changes made by me to the final project. The job finished ahead of schedule, I am very proud of the outcome. I would gladly recommend Wayne and Outdoor Homescapes to anyone wating a dream kitchen.” 

Anonymous customer (via Citysearch):

“Like others we wanted an outdoor kitchen. Wayne and his crew truly transformed out yard into a showcase. We are able to use it year round for entertaining and family time. Wayne and his crew went out of their way to meet our expectations and bring our dreams to reality. The work was precise and quality. Wayne made sure that all opportunities were given to me to choose stone, tile and floor surfaces. Even when it meant building miniature walls until I could decide. His years of experience made him a wealth of first hand knowledge. I would definatley recommend him.”

Beautiful Outdoor Space (via Citysearch):

“My husband and I used this company to build our dream outdoor space and it all turned out so much better than we thought it would. We got a beautiful outdoor kitchen, bar, dining and living area that are stunning. We even had him reconstruct our deck around the pool and he tied that into our new outdoor space. I was impressed with his time management and our design was finished in time and on budget. I would highly recommend this company to anyone in need of an outdoor retreat.”

Julie (3/17/2011):

“We’ve had so many compliments on our new outdoor living space and we are out there constantly now. It is my favorite space in the house. :)”

BBB Letter

“Congratulations on being accredited as meeting BBBOnLine standards.”

Brad in Friendswod (9/24/08):

“Kitchen held up good through IKE.”

Martin (4/30/2008):

“I had an outdoor patio created by Outdoor Homescapes in a colored, stamped patterned concrete. The patio looks superb and very much like actual stone. From the top design and salespeople down to the guys putting the finishing touches on the patio, all worked closely with me like a team in helping me choose just the right size, shape, stamp stone pattern and coloring. But it has been the attention to detail they provided in the work, such as the varying slopes of the patio, fine finishing colors and glaze, and the inlaid channel drains that really separate this patio from just so-so to really excellent. To Wayne and Crew – thanks very much for a great job!”

Brian & Rebecca (5/21/2008):

“We would like to thank you for completing our outdoor living area. We appreciated your help in the design and construction of our outdoor kitchen, deck, and fire pit. You were patient and responsive to our numerous requests. Unfortunately, the original flagstone patio did not have the correct grout color. You promptly responded to our request to have the grout repaired with the correct color. We have been using our kitchen and patio for several months. It has provided immense pleasure for our family. We look forward to working with you again in the future.We would be happy to provide a recommendation to others considering your company for their outdoor living area.”

Customer (2/10 2006):

“We are very happy with the final product. I know we will enjoy this patio for years to come. It was such a pleasure to work with you on this project. You took all of our concerns into consideration and we ended up with a final project that was beautiful and within our budget. Many people can build a patio, but you stand out because the service and attention was outstanding. We will be the first to tell everyone that Outdoor Homescapes did a fantastic job.

Thanks again and I look forward to working with you on future homescape projects.”